I will be a good girl

“Our strategy should be not only to confront empire, but to lay siege to it. To deprive it of oxygen. To shame it. To mock it. With our art, our music, our literature, our stubbornness, our joy, our brilliance, our sheer relentlessness — and our ability to tell our own stories. Stories that are different from the ones we’re being brainwashed to believe.” Arundhati Roy

I’m deeply perplexed by this video making the rounds. Target: Women is an amusing poke at the marketing campaigns that attempt to manipulate modern women to ingest yogurt, yes, I said yogurt.

You know what else out there deserves our similarly sarcastic cultural criticism with or without alliteration? Crickets, you say. Yup. I’ve established cordial relations with the big feminist bloggers by stepping lightly in their comment threads, but I am enervated by the taboo on smacking down the PhRMA agenda as it pertains to women. If I had the wit and the skilz of the crew at Shakesville, Feministe or Pandagon I would do more than marvel at the opportunities missed, talent gone to waste, all the beautiful heads in the sand because it’s one thing to ridicule the merchandizinig of yogurt that makes women poop but to mock the marketing of female madness? Over the line, sparky!

Yogurt is very safe, antipsychotics are not. Truly not. And that’s the point. Maybe we just need a little inspiration.

(Rolling stone insert, originally uploaded at Soulful Sepulcher.)

Still think this is not a feminist issue?

The Academy:

One explanation offered is that physicians are influenced by gender stereotyping in pharmaceutical drug advertisements. It is argued that if drug ads display disproportionately more women than men, or if they portray women only as helpless, depressed, and incompetent, cultural stereotypes are reinforced, so that physicians may be likely to diagnose and treat women differently from men in sex biased ways.

The Pitch:

Abilify is the medicine that brings you to your senses.Purchase Abilify from understanding international online pharmacies and licensed US pharmacies at savings of up to 85% off of retail and cheap prices with no prior prescription needed. Using our complete online form you can Purchase Abilify through our online foreign pharmacy. Let us fill your prescription with our lower cost online prescription drugs and receive high quality medications.

These are not anti-depressants. They’re heavy-hitter atypical neuroleptics designed to treat psychosis; the manufacturers are merely expanding their market in an unrelenting campaign against insecure, anxious nailbiting women with garden variety moodswings and subclinical neuroses.

That’s the allure, isn’t it.

Hold on Hanna, see here. This is a typical atypical patient insert (typically unread), that your doctor won’t have time to go over with you:

“ABILIFY (aripiprazole) is indicated for the treatment of

Schizophrenia.

Tell your healthcare professional right away if you have any conditions or side effects, including the following:

  • An increased risk of stroke and ministroke
  • Very high fever, rigid muscles, shaking, confusion, sweating, or increased heart rate and blood pressure. These may be signs of a condition called neuroleptic malignant syndrome (NMS), a rare but serious side effect which could be fatal
  • Abnormal or uncontrollable movements. These may be signs of a serious condition called tardive dyskinesia (TD), which may be permanent
  • Diabetes, Increases in blood sugar levels (hyperglycemia), in some cases serious and associated with coma or death
  • Lightheadedness or faintness caused by a sudden change in heart rate and blood pressure when rising quickly .
  • Elderly patients who are treated with atypical antipsychotic medicines includingABILIFY, are at an increased risk of death when compared to patients who are treated with a placebo (sugar pill).

Medicines like ABILIFY (antipsychotics) can affect your judgment, thinking, or motor skills. You should not drive or operate hazardous machinery.

Since medicines like ABILIFY (antipsychotics) can impact your body’s ability to reduce body temperature, you should avoid overheating and dehydration.

Medicines like ABILIFY (antipsychotics) have been associated with swallowing problems (dysphagia). If you had or have swallowing problems, you should tell your healthcare professional.

If you have suicidal thoughts, you should tell your healthcare professional right away.”

Dangerous, disabling, permanent and beckoning. Inescapable really and we’re riffing on yogurt.

18 thoughts on “I will be a good girl

  1. (((thank you)))

    oh how I wish I could get mad like that…the words are there, but the feelings? Extinguished, smothered, medicated away a long time ago……..

    Starting at age ELEVEN. (I would finish my school work before everyone else and couldn’t sit still…Ritalin Time!

    I’ve been on the roller-coaster ever since (46 now).

    Thnak you for being not a voice, but a screamer for those of us who can’t yell for help.

  2. If the baby’s going, the bath water is just going to nurture mosquitoes and make you sick – excellent post. Females, dogs and anti psychotics, ah.

  3. Well, as you know, women are crazy right? We make men so miserable that there must be something wrong with us women folk. We stand in the way of male happiness.

    So a pill makes us so much more manageable. Like VO5 for hair except it is for women. Give us a pill and we are as horny as you want us, give us a pill and we smile and we make it through the day without a fight. If we won’t be controlled we are bitches in heat.

  4. Pingback: Geodon lies. « Bipolar Recovery

  5. Sometimes I wish I had a fraction of your political education.

    The problem with the Abilify advertisement is as plain as day even to me. The woman as dog as relapsed is just troubling.

    The one that gets me the most is the Geodon ad. I started to rant a 1000 word comment here about it and instead turned it into a post on my blog.

    To use the image of young woman practicing an ancient form of self healing and mastery and associating self imposed isolation, deep meditation with brain damaging drugs to be taken as preventative or maintenance is antithetical.

    It is like matter and anti matter. Light versus shadow. Angels versus demons.

    The use of the yoga woman to sell neuroleptics is disgusting and insulting beyond the pale.

    There is a yoga studio right down the street from me and every day women walk in carrying their yoga mats and bottled water. From my experience with other women that are hip to holistic living, every single one of them could tell you that drugs make you toxic, psyche meds included.

    You can’t be modeling mind-body wellness and be saturated with brain damaging drugs. Yoga is about taking responsibility for your inner world.

    Taking antipsychotics is to escape and evade your inner world while polluting your body.

    It is counter productive and detrimental to the idea of a healthy mind in a healthy body.

  6. I read your post, it’s great Jane. It’s an effective piece of media criticism. I know the insecurity that comes with being denied formal education, it’s something I get real bitter about. I was in my thirties before learning the Middle East didn’t refer to some US region around New York, and today I can find Uzbekistan on a world map. The upside of missing out on bricks and mortar schooling is the fresh and open discovery of your own potentials, finding your own teachers, and overcoming the very real odds against you by following your bliss. Do this, and you get to partake.

    There will always be people who presume expertise depends on academic credentials as opposed to habits of mind and quality of thinking. And these are the people I study so hard to wield my revenge upon.

  7. yep & both of you have now seen clearly through all the pharma fog and figured out the real mortal enemy:

    his holy trollness z0tl teh anti-psychiatric psycho scientologistical phreak.

    per aspera ad astra, ladies.

  8. Through difficulties to the stars is as right as can be, zOtl. So why identify as antipsychiatry? Don’t you know what these people want? That they’re in a battle with psychiatry over who has authority over the denoted mentally ill? Fuck authority. We resolved this a long time ago. Kill your heroes.

  9. I’ve been thinking along those very lines, and am so up for that. First we need to do real live lunch, if you let me know next time you’re in town we can make a point to get together. I’ll meet you halfway.

  10. i have no heroes.

    & for the life of me i do not understand why i’ve been labeled anti-psychiatrist by you after daring to say in philip’s blog that psychotropic drugs make people violent and described how i experienced rage while being on them.

    also, i have read thomas szasz “words to the wise” 2oo4 book immediately after hearing everyone in the industry accusing him as such and found it replete with tons and tons of, well, wisdom.

    if thomas szasz and his ideas in that book are labeled anti-psychiatry (when in fact all he argues against is coercive medicine of any kind and abolishment of a therapeutic state / pharmacracy in which we all proudly live today), then so be it.

    i guess i resonate with the thomas szasz and his words of wisdom, so if that makes him my hero and me an anti-psychiatrist/scientologist, great. i only hope you guys, the anti-anti-psychiatrists don’t figure out a way to silence me with pills.

    telling me to shut the fuck up, i’m a psycho and troll, that i can handle with much glee. the part where a pill/liquid zyprexa injection turns me into a drooling retard, that part not only i cannot handle, but wu wei as i may be, when the power shifts, 10 million kalpas i will practice in order to meet these bastards again and show them in kind what they actually did to me, in the name of healing.

  11. I’m sorry if I misrepresented you as antipsychiatry, I remember just being really pissed that you were misrepresenting me as a pro-psychiatry “consumer.” I have no tolerance for those who reduce and misconstrue what it is I stand for, given the fact I’ve been putting it out there under my own name for decades. If I remember you were putting me on the spot as to whether or not I take medication, on a post I made that was about the injustice of forced injections, which you would have had to click the link to comprehend.

    Thus my stubborn refusal, zOtl. I don’t answer direct questions put to me by anyone who thinks they’re entitled to direct my discourse. My stand on medications is not fucking mysterious. Which makes my withholding that *vital* information delicious — to fuck with assholes who would put me in a box based on their own ludicrous criteria, which I actually pass! But I’ll be fucked if I’ll serve up my acceptability to refusers who ignore what’s in front of them.

    Again, my apologies for reducing you to antipsychiatry. I believe you are more than that, and hope we can forgive & forget as the usual stupidity of talking past each other in the heat of the moment.

  12. i don’t stand for anything when it comes to psychiatry other than please do not invade my body against my will.

    also, if you already have invaded my body with psychotropic drugs (such as when committed against my will), to get my consent under the influence of mind-altering drugs is irrelevant.

    this should be treated legally like using date rape drugs.

    that is pretty much it.

    i don’t care to hear people’s opinion that mental illness exists or not, the neurological basis of it (which, if in fact proves to be true, will do away with psychiatry right then and there, because we already have neurologists who are actually practicing objective medicine, not the subjective kind), etc.

    i CAN engage in all sorts of rants/polemics and come across as a righteous asshole, whatever, but truly, all i talk about is my personal experience.

    i also believe in arguing for only from dissent/contradiction comes progress. from politely agreeing with each other only ego stroking can come.

    i believe that psychotropic drugs CAUSE the symptoms of mental illness that in turn are used to justify the use of these drugs.

    i believe psychiatrists who proscribe these medications as lifetime treatment, now starting with toddlers, will burn in unspeakable hells, good intentions or not.

    i consider myself a lottery winner for having found the strength to abandon all medication and regain my health. 150% of it, because i feel now at 38 better than i’ve felt at 20 (i was labeled at 30 and ruined between 30 and 35 – a period which earned me whatever reputation at TIP), i do not have any dietary restrictions, i can skip on sleeping/go partying if i want to, i have basically returned to who i am completely and in the process realized i was enslaved not by a label/so called disease, but by terrible drugs who were meant to heal me from what?

    inconveniencing people with words, if even that.

    i came to this country (after escaping communist romania in 1992) not for economical reasons, but because i believed in the concept of freedom.

    i found out in the years i’ve been here, that freedom is just a word and freedom of speech, if practiced, can get you locked up in a looney bin in no time at all.

    it’s 1984.

  13. Feminism and psychiatry… It’s kind of ironic, that I’m about as feminist as they come, yet I find myself practically falling in love with Ken Kesey for exposing the psychiatric system for the abusive establishment it was and is, even though Cuckoo’s Nest can easilly be interpereted as misogynistic. Anyway, yeah, that’s some sexist crap in those ads there.

    By the way, thanks for turning me on to the Icarus Project.

  14. Pingback: Women and Marketing Antipsychotics « pasadena therapist

  15. I don’t know much about feminism; I had thought it was just another sign we’re living in the end of days that now I get a strange queasy feeling every time I go to make a mango lassi. Of course it’s easiest to condescend benevolently: the corporations have an obligation to women, to do right by them, to lift them up, to stop them from acting weird and help them to poop…

  16. ah, Robin and the Abilify phone booth ad is a photograph I took in Seattle, within walking distance of the University of Washington; makes you wonder who the DTC ad was placed there for doesn’t it?

Leave a comment