Where I’m calling from

Dear Diary,

When not here, as in most of the time, I’m in blogtopia, writing passionate incomprensible take-downs in comment threads, averaging about ten screeds a day. I can stop doing that, and answer back here on my own blog, then duly send trackbacks to the blog in question, which appears to be fairly standard procedure when nobodies like me want to respond to threads while drawing traffic to their own sites.

I won’t do that, I like the feel of community when involving myself in ongoing conversations, but I also want anyone who comes to Writhe Safely to know what I’m thinking, so will try to sort this out by linking to and perhaps cross-posting excerpts from some of the threads I jump in at the sites on my blogroll, see how that goes. Maybe this is a transition most newbies go through after posting in comments for years and then getting their own space. How do you take a topic from one blog, use it to build on in your own place, and acknowledge you’ve done so with the click of a trackback, I guess that’s the way but it feels cold and lonely, and a bit like stealing, not to mention, work.

Thinking…thinking….hmmmm…

One idea is to make a record here of what I say there, in case some patterns emerge in all these controversies I’m trying to figure out, right.

It may seem beyond egotistic for a blogger to link to her own comment threads but I do have a personality disorder, which is by definition incurable so obviously criticism is off the table. Anyway it’s not like I’m tracking back, this is about containing and sharing my own thoughts and experience if that works for you fascists.

So. Some of the following I may flesh out here, or not. But this week I joined in thrilling conversations at Ilyka Damen’s blog (about Dr. Helen, aka InstaStigma), an ongoing 3-page thread at Icarus about the dangers of the biologic model of madness, a thread at Two Glasses on how far-right wingnuts keep me sane thanks to Buber’s I-thou dialogic, told Sadly, No! about my tragic childhood, oh and Libertarianism, where I come out of the closet regarding my misspent affiliation with Ayn Rand’s Objectivism, and the day I got fatherly advice from the truly heroic anti-psychiatrist Peter Breggin during my stint as tri-state Propaganda Director for 1980 Libertarian presidential candidate Ed Clark, what an eye-opener that was, to which I can only add this:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Also, tried to clear up some confusion at Happy Furry Puppy Story Time about the Pink Flag elpee, blurbed on irony and the new sincerity movement of the 1980s at Pandagon, offered encouragement for a self-stigmatizing sister, found the cure for psychopharm (dog food), which we will come back to, it’s a stone barnburner and well worth a showcase, right, I’ll get up on that next so bbl and stay true, you..

3 thoughts on “Where I’m calling from

  1. shit…I’ve routinely, not linked to, but copied and pasted comments I’ve made on other sites and made them into posts with additional commentary. I say get your word out there anyway you can….that’s why we start blogs in the first place isn’t it. And if we’ve got readers…well someone’s interested.

Leave a comment