Rilke appreciation

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Sketch by Leonid Pasternak (Moscow c. 1900)

Themes: Invocation towards authentic existence; examination of the role of fractured self-consciousness in modern life; the discrepancy between romanticism’s ideals, and the realities of human inadequacy to attain those ideals in the face of modernity; human longing for completeness and for the absolute in the face of deficiency, transience, and emptiness due to the changing flux of values and standards; language as both indicator of inadequacy and tool for praise; the prickly and problematic role of the artist, and the artist’s role in the world at large.

Style: More than any other poet, Rilke embodies what one thinks of what a poet is—gloomy, passive, hypersensitive and delicate to the point of resembling a wilted flower taking in the last sunshine of its ephemeral life, or an overripe fruit laying out in the sun. He capitalised with great success in adopting the stance of the “poet” as seer—that is, one with important things to say who only he with an unfathomable depth and perception into the mysteries of life could say in his unfolding magic of words, which even then paled in their reach. Which is his strength, since he did have important things to say, and which he said with unfathomable depth and perception.

Words:

Who has not sat before his own heart’s curtain? It lifts: and the scenery is falling apart.

Poems are not . . . simply emotions . . . they are experiences. For the sake of a single poem, you must see many cities, many people and things . . . and know the gestures which small flowers make when they open in the morning. You must be able to think back to streets in unknown neighborhoods, to unexpected encounters, and to partings you have long seen coming; to days of childhood whose mystery is still unexplained . . .; to childhood illnesses . . . to mornings by the sea, to the sea itself, to seas, to nights of travel . . . and it is still not enough. –The Notebooks of Malte Laurids Brigge

The purpose of life is to be defeated by greater and greater things.

“..the disturbing thing is not the fact of this war, but that it is being used and exploited in a business-ridden, a nothing but human world, that the god himself, once someone has flung into the world, cannot call it back, because people cling to it greedily, with all the weight of their heavy conscience.”

Perhaps all the dragons of our lives are princesses who are only waiting to see us once beautiful and brave.

Perhaps everything terrible is in its deepest being something helpless that wants help from us.

If the Angel deigns to come it will because you have convinced her, not by tears but by your humble resolve to be always beginning; to be a beginner.

I want to be with those who know secret things or else alone.

I have never been aware before how many faces there are. There are quantities of human beings, but there are many more faces, for each person has several.

The work of the eyes is done,
do now the work of the heart.

The great renewal of the world will perhaps consist in this, that man and maid, freed of all false feelings and reluctances, will seek each other not as opposites, but as brother and sister, as neighbors, and will come together as human beings.

Love consists in this, that two solitudes protect and touch and greet each other.

Let life happen to you. Believe me: life is in the right, always.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Posted in Healthy speech is poetry, Proper genius
4 comments on “Rilke appreciation
  1. thememoryartist says:

    The Song the Leper Sings

    I am one of those people whom everything has given up.
    Nobody in the city knows that I exist.
    Leprosy has happened to me.
    And I strike my wooden clapper,
    knock my sad theme song
    into the ear of every person
    who comes near.
    And those who hear that sound look
    certainly not here, and what is happening here
    they don’t care to know.

    As far as the sound of my clapper reaches, there
    I am at home; but maybe
    you’re making my clapper so loud
    that they won’t trust my distance any more
    than they trust my nearness now.
    I’m able to go a very long way
    without coming on girl, woman,
    child, or man.

    But it bothers me when I frighten animals.

    ~Rainer Maria Rilke

    I’ve always related this poem to what it can feel like sometimes to live with a mental illness. I sent this anonymously once to an asshole psychiatrist who would not let me work. I’m sure the animal was clueless as to what it meant, but it made me feel better.

    I love that quote from Letters to A young Poet. It’s one of my favorites. His work touches me deeply.

  2. BOSSY says:

    You are such a brainiac. Quit showing off!

  3. thememoryartist says:

    “You are such a brainiac. Quit showing off!”

    Who ?

  4. grizzledanold says:

    Walk in That Room

    Don’t know what this means
    Kind of not up on this stuff
    Gonna split it in the center
    And walk in the room.
    Then that sun will be a breath
    That opens its lungs in the evening
    And rises in the west.

    Tired of your test
    Gonna split the possum
    And nail the freight
    To the center of the hall.

    Simply, I’ll find out
    By the time I decide to quit
    That’s the way to do it.

    So I will, I’ll get through it.

    And walk in that room.

Leave a Reply

My Amazon.com Wish List
Goodreads


  • RT @Alex_Austin: When something goes wrong in your life, just yell,"Plot twist!" and move on. #writing 3 days ago
  • RT @Keith_Laws: "My experience of CBT is that it’s about as sophisticated as a quiz in a woman’s magazine, and about as helpful" http://t.c… 3 days ago
  • My 1st colonoscopy was fantastic. #ThanksObama!!! 4 days ago
  • Yer slipping, @KXAN_News .Took your moderator 7 whole minutes to delete my words for not being inane burble on the "lost" prevention story. 6 days ago
  • I have a shit-eating grin for loving Glenn Greenwald from day 1, being out of step with my fucking peer group, and ending up right, as usual 1 week ago
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.